Different Strokes For Different Folks

wp-image-1364221167jpg.jpg

Sunday was another lovely, crisp, sunny day so the Park was an obvious choice for today’s run. However, given that it was Sunday I was inclined towards a slow gentle start to the day with a special luxury breakfast of a healthy ( and small) pancake loaded with banana, strawberries and blueberries and a mix of linseed, goji berries, flax, chai, pumpkin and sunflower seeds.

Image result for YUM

This meant we were much later arriving at The Hole In the Wall…so the Park was very busy with runners, walkers and families.

My youngest daughter decided to come along for the run and a park workout: hence the title different strokes for different folks as this surely was a run with a difference. We threw in several sets of squats, press ups, jumps and mountain climbers….much to the amusement of other visitors to the Park. I freely admit that I had not taken into account how very much busier the park would be given it was the weekend and we were there so much later in the day! My rather sad effort at press ups whilst my feet were elevated on a handy log were quite hilarious- and I feel I have entertained quite enough people with that so am choosing not to upload a photo of my efforts!! Here are some photos of much fitter, slimmer people doing the same exercises…haha!

Image result for mountain climbers exercise in the parkImage result for elevated push ups Image result for squatsImage result for squats jumps

It was such a different experience and I did enjoy it though I must quietly confess it was a tad too far from the comfort zone for me to be huffing and puffing next to the sleek young form of my offspring! Equally she admitted that gym bunny was more her style than park lady…. it is indeed different strokes for different folks. We are on the same journey to fitness whilst taking our own route!

So I am looking forward to tomorrow’s run with my friends, the lovely SLJ ladies, at Beginners Joggers dsc_0047

Leave a Reply

