Poetry In Motion

http://www.runnersworld.com/commentary/the-poetry-of-running

I came across this article whilst searching for poems about running. I really enjoyed it so decided to share it here.

 I also found this poem which expresses how I felt when running in the rain recently

Silent Running

The coolness of the morning air, rushing over me,
Silent running, sunrise, peace, tranquility,
Heart is pumping faster, breathing getting deeper,
Stride’s becoming shorter, as the hill grows steeper.

Rain is gently falling, cool upon my face,
Refreshing me all over, quickening my pace,
This therapeutic feeling, flowing through my veins,
It overtakes my tiredness, as I start to feel the strain

Run is almost over, slowly homeward bound,
Silent running through the streets, making not a sound,
Endorphins start to surface, I feel like I can fly,
An energy comes bursting out, must be the runners high :0)

Copyright © Claire Bowl | Year Posted 2014

Leave a Reply

