Mission: Snowdrop

Today was a glorious day- sparkling blue sky, frosty ground glinting in the sunshine, the air crisp and chilly! Delicious! Perfect weather for walking and running- particularly for sweaty betty menopausal me! I decided to go  on a mission to find my first snowdrops of the year as in previous years I have already spotted some within the first week or so of the New Year.

This little fellow drinking at the edge of the lake was the first delightful spot of the afternoon- unfortunately brain fog caused me to forget to take the phone cover off so it’s blurry, but it is possible to just make him out. Sadly he ran off before I could get a better photo!

I had decided to stay local rather go to Knole as one of my daughters and I plan to run there tomorrow and the ducks and geese at the lake were not impressed when I proceeded to continue on my merry way without casting plentiful handfuls of naughty white bread! The lakes were partly frozen and the water had barely a ripple so formed a perfect mirror for the trees.

The homework run is not as much fun as when we are together as a group but the sun and blue skies certainly helped to encourage me to keep going!dsc_0009

dsc_0013

Haha! The photos are SO much clearer now I remembered to take the phone cover off! Overall I would say that the menopausal brain fog has improved just a tad since I embarked upon this back to fit journey, but obviously I am still having those ‘special’ moments!!

Finally on the last part of my run, just before the homeward bound cooldown I spotted some snowdrops!

Lovely! A successful mission for mind, body and soul as I felt my mood lift, felt the muscles respond to the exercise and fed my soul with the beauty of nature!  The bonus is I covered 3.74 miles and can now feel the happy hormones flowing through my veins: wonderful!

Leave a Reply

